Unleashing England’s Wheelchair Rugby League Powerhouse: A Thrilling Season Ahead

The England Wheelchair Rugby League’s newly expanded National Performance Squad has been unveiled, comprising a dynamic mix of experienced internationals and promising newcomers. With the Wheelchair Super League season kicking off this weekend, the squad is primed and ready to embark on an exhilarating journey, preparing for the upcoming autumn internationals.

England Wheelchair Rugby League’s New Performance Squad Unveiled for Exciting Season Ahead

The England Wheelchair Rugby League’s newly expanded National Performance Squad gathered for their inaugural training session at Medway Park in Gillingham last Sunday. Headcoach Tom Coyd MBE, who was recently appointed to the role, announced an exciting squad lineup that includes three uncapped players hailing from Essex, Kent, and Yorkshire.

The trio of newcomers – Mason Billington and Jason Owen of London Roosters, along with Tristan Norfolk of Hull FC – all impressed selectors at the recent ‘Future of England’ event in York and have now joined the 16-strong squad. They will be training alongside the nine players who represented England in 2023, as well as four individuals – Jack Heggie, Martin Lane, Adam Rigby, and Nathan Holmes – who have donned the England jersey in major tournaments before.

“The Wheelchair Super League season kicks off this weekend, so this was a great opportunity to welcome both familiar and new faces to the squad and start our preparations for the autumn internationals,” said England Headcoach Tom Coyd. “We’ll have additional training sessions throughout the year, and I’ll continue monitoring the performances of all England-eligible players in their domestic competitions.”

The full England Wheelchair Rugby League Performance Squad is as follows:

  1. Seb Bechara MBE (Catalans Dragons)
  2. Mason Billington (London Roosters)
  3. Wayne Boardman (Halifax Panthers)
  4. Jack Brown (North Queensland Cowboys)
  5. Josh Butler
  6. Nathan Collins (both Leeds Rhinos)
  7. Joe Coyd (London Roosters)
  8. Tom Halliwell OBE (Leeds Rhinos)
  9. Rob Hawkins (Halifax Panthers)
  10. Jack Heggie (Wigan Warriors)
  11. Nathan Holmes (Halifax Panthers)
  12. Lewis King (London Roosters)
  13. Martin Lane (Wigan Warriors)
  14. Tristan Norfolk (Hull FC)
  15. Jason Owen (London Roosters)
  16. Adam Rigby (Wigan Warriors)

đź”— Source