Saracens vs Sale Sharks: Pivotal Clash in Rugby Union Playoff Race

In a highly anticipated round 18 clash, second-place Saracens and fourth-place Sale Sharks are set to battle it out in a pivotal rugby union matchup. With both teams securing recent victories, the clash at StoneX Stadium promises to be a thrilling affair as they jostle for position in the end-of-season semi-final race.

Saracens and Sale Sharks Set for Crucial Matchup in Rugby Union Action

In a highly anticipated round 18 matchup of the rugby union season, second-place Saracens and fourth-place Sale Sharks have announced their starting lineups, each making two changes from the squads that secured victories in their previous outings.

The clash at StoneX Stadium on Saturday will be pivotal in shaping the end-of-season semi-final picture, with the already qualified Londoners aiming to cement home advantage for the knockout stage, while the Sharks look to solidify their position and keep rivals Exeter, Harlequins, and Bristol at bay in the table.

Saracens’ Lineup

Saracens, fresh off a 41-20 win over Bristol last weekend, have made two adjustments to their starting XV. Christian Judge will take over the tighthead prop position from the benched Marco Riccioni, while Sean Maitland replaces Rotimi Segun on the right wing.

Sale Sharks’ Lineup

Sale, meanwhile, have included full-back Joe Carpenter and hooker Luke Cowan-Dickie in their starting lineup, with Sam James and Tommy Taylor, the try-scorers in the victory over Leicester, dropping to the replacements.

Key Individual Matchup

The highly anticipated individual battle will see former England captain Owen Farrell of Saracens take on George Ford of Sale, who has assumed the No. 10 jersey for the Guinness Six Nations in Farrell’s absence.

“This clash at StoneX Stadium on Saturday will be pivotal in shaping the end-of-season semi-final picture.”


  1. Mako Vunipola
  2. Jamie George
  3. Christian Judge
  4. Maro Itoje
  5. Hugh Tizard
  6. Juan Martin Gonzalez
  7. Ben Earl
  8. Tom Willis
  9. Ivan van Zyl
  10. Owen Farrell (capt)
  11. Tom Parton
  12. Nick Tompkins
  13. Lucio Cinti
  14. Sean Maitland
  15. Elliot Daly

16. Theo Dan
17. Eroni Mawi
18. Marco Riccioni
19. Nick Isiekwe
20. Theo McFarland
21. Billy Vunipola
22. Aled Davies
23. Alex Goode

Sale Sharks:

  1. Bevan Rodd
  2. Luke Cowan-Dickie
  3. James Harper
  4. Cobus Wiese
  5. Hyron Andrews
  6. Ben Curry (capt)
  7. Sam Dugdale
  8. JL du Preez
  9. Gus Warr
  10. George Ford
  11. Tom O’Flaherty
  12. Manu Tuilagi
  13. Rob du Preez
  14. Tom Roebuck
  15. Joe Carpenter

16. Tommy Taylor
17. Si McIntyre
18. WillGriff John
19. Ben Bamber
20. Ernst van Rhyn
21. Raffi Quirke
22. Sam James
23. Arron Reed

đź”— Source