Cornwall Reveals Starting Lineup Against Cheshire

Cornwall’s selectors have opted for consistency, maintaining their established squad for the upcoming Bill Beaumont Cup Final clash against Cheshire at Twickenham this Sunday.

This match marks the third encounter between the two counties in the final, with Cheshire clinching victory in the inaugural final in 1998 with a score of 21-14. Cornwall, however, emerged triumphant in the subsequent final three years ago with a convincing 35-13 win, highlighted by Matt Shepherd’s remarkable performance, contributing twenty points through a try, three penalties, and three conversions.

In preparation for the final showdown, a few positional adjustments have been made. Jon Dawe shifts to the wing, while Richie Kevern moves from full-back to the center to pair with club mate Jack Simmons. Shepherd, having recuperated from injury, is set to rejoin the team after missing the Devon game.

Edd Pascoe retains his position in the back row alongside the returning Sam Stevens, who has recovered from his previous absence against Devon. Notably, Bude winger Kyle Speare is named as a traveling reserve, indicating the depth and talent available to Cornwall’s squad.

The bench strength promises significant contributions, with players like George Jones, Grant Randlesome, and Matt Ballard from Penryn and Wadebridge’s Matt Ballard expected to play pivotal roles at rugby’s headquarters.

The squad also celebrates the selections of Alex Ducker and Jack Oulton for the England Counties tour to Georgia, underscoring the caliber of talent within Cornwall’s ranks.

As the team gears up for the final, their dedication, pride, and passion are evident, traits synonymous with Cornwall’s rich rugby heritage. Their journey to Twickenham is met with anticipation, with the Cornwall rugby community expressing some surprise at the RFU’s decision to slightly delay the kick-off time to 5:45 pm.

Here is the Cornwall team lineup for the match against Cheshire at Twickenham on Sunday, June 2nd, with kick-off at 5:45 pm:

  • Matt Shepherd (Plymouth Albion)
  • John Dawe (Plymouth Albion)
  • Jack Simmons (Redruth)
  • Richie Kevern (Redruth)
  • Alex Ducker (Camborne)
  • Fraser Honey (Plymouth Albion)
  • Jack Oulton (Redruth)
  • Dan Job (Lanner)
  • Rob Elloway (St. Ives)
  • Jess Tompsett (Redruth)
  • Tony Whittle (Camborne)
  • Ben Hilton (Captain, Barnstaple)
  • Edd Pascoe (Redruth & Royal Navy)
  • Sam Stevens (Redruth)
  • Brad Howe (Redruth)
  • Matt Ballard (Wadebridge Camels)
  • Craig Williams (Redruth)
  • George Jones (Penryn)
  • Grant Randlesome (Penryn)
  • Taron Peacock (Camborne)
  • Dean Bonds (Redruth)
  • Seti Raumakita (Plymouth Albion)

Travelling Reserves: Rikki Bentham, Kyle Speare, Rhys Brownfield, Charlie Nicholson, or Greg Thomas